top of page

Threnody (1979)

I.     Lamentation of the Mortality of Man  (4:30)

II.    Dance of the Ancient Gods  (4:30)

(III.  Birdsong at Morning)

duration ca. 9:00

available from the composer


brass ensemble, percussion and piano

4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones, baritone horn, tuba, timpani,

percussion (three players: glockenspiel, xylophone, snare drum, bass drum, tambourine, suspended cymbal, tam-tam), piano

Program Note

The first two movements of Threnody were premiered by the brass and percussion of the University of Georgia Wind Ensemble directed by Albert Ligotti, with David Reeseman, piano on May 8, 1979 at the University of Georgia.  A projected third movement has not yet been completed, and at this rate, will never be.

bottom of page