top of page

Music for a Tranquil Moment (1980)

duration ca. 8:25

available from the composer


for orchestra

piccolo, flute, oboe, english horn, clarinet, bass clarinet, 2 bassoons,

contrabassoon, 4 horns, 2 trumpets, 2 trombones, tuba, timpani,

percussion (one player: bass drum, suspended cymbal, tam-tam), harp, strings

Program Note

Music for a Tranquil Moment was composed at the Aspen Music Festival.  I vividly remember standing on a bridge overlooking a stream and feeling a sense of calmness wash over me, inspiring the piece.  The work has been read by the University of Chicago Symphony Orchestra, but not yet premiered.

bottom of page